Panama, officially the Republic of Panama (Spanish: República de Panamá; IPA: [re'pußlika ðe pana'ma]), is the southernmost country of Central America. Some categorize it as a transcontinental nation connecting the north and south part of the Americas. It borders Costa Rica to the north-west, Colombia to the southeast, the Caribbean Sea to the north and the Pacific Ocean to the south.
It is an international business center and is also a transit country. In Central America, it is the second most industrialized country, behind El Salvador.

Tigre Salvaje is a wildlife sanctuary in Panama located on the Pacific Coast at the end of
Punta Burica near the border of Costa Rica.

Capital and largest city is Panama City
Panama's major divisions are nine provinces and five indigenous territories
Bocas del Toro, Coclé, Colón, Chiriquí, Darién,
Herrera, Los Santos, Panamá, Veraguas

Provincial-level comarcas
Emberá-Wounaan, Kuna Yala, Ngöbe-Buglé, Kuna de Madugandí, Kuna de Wargandí

There are seven indigenous peoples in Panama
Emberá, Wounaan, Guaymí, Buglé, Kuna, Naso, Bribri

Official language is Spanish
Government is a Constitutional Democracy

Currancy is Balboa and US Dollars

More information in English and Spanish

back to the top